Under The Duvet Productions

Covering News And Entertainment.

Smokey Robinson: The Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song on PBS 2017 by Photojournalist Lisa Pacino

On Friday, February 10, 2017 airing as part of PBS Arts programming, Smokey Robinson: The Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song honors legendary singer-songwriter Smokey Robinson.

smokey-robinson-and-the-miracles-autographed-original-promo

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles, autographed promo photo for Tamla Records.

This star-studded music special, hosted by Samuel L. Jackson, with a special appearance by Motown founder Berry Gordy, Jr. and featuring performances by BeBe Winans, Ledisi, and CeeLo Green, to name a few. Robinson, a rhythm and blues icon nicknamed the “King of Motown,” has enjoyed a career spanning more than half a century. The Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song is awarded annually to a composer or performer whose lifetime achievements exemplify the standard of excellence associated with the George and Ira Gershwin.

Photographer Lisa Pacino’s photographs of Smokey Robinson at Broadway’s Motown: The Musical opening, 2013 will be unarchived for this event.

Smokey Robinson (born William Robinson, Jr. February 19, 1940; Detroit, Michigan) is a singer, songwriter, record producer, and former record executive. Robinson was the founder and front man of the Tamla/Motown vocal group the Miracles, for which he also served as the group’s chief songwriter and producer. Robinson led the group from its 1955 origins as the Five Chimes until 1972 when he announced a retirement from the group to focus on his role as Motown’s vice president. He also has a solo career for over 4 decades. Robinson has received numerous nominations and awards including a Grammy Award in 1987, was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987, the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1990, and received BET Lifetime Achievement Award in 2015. In 2016, he will be awarded the Gershwin Prize for his lifetime contributions to popular music.

In 2012, Robinson explained: My uncle Claude was my favorite uncle, he was also my godfather. He and I were really, really close. He used to take me to see cowboy movies all the time when I was a little boy because I loved cowboy movies. He got a cowboy name for me, which was Smokey Joe. So from the time I was three years old if people asked me what my name was I didn’t tell them my name was William, I told them my name was Smokey Joe. That’s what everyone called me until I was about 12 and then I dropped the Joe part. I’ve heard that story about him giving it to me because I’m a light skinned Black man but that’s not true.

Lisa Pacino and Under The Duvet Productions are based in New York. Photography services are available worldwide. If you wish to book photography services, receive information, and/or license images for commercial and/or promotional use please E-mail: UnderTheDuvetProductions@gmail.com

Please visit our On-Line Magazine with over 270 articles:
https://undertheduvetproductions.wordpress.com/

Website:

http://lisapacino.smugmug.com/

Leave a Reply

