Under The Duvet Productions

Covering News And Entertainment.

The 72nd Annual Tony Award Nominees Have Been Announced For The 2017-2018 by Lisa Pacino

Today, May 1, 2018 the 72nd Annual Tony Award nominees were announced for the 2017-2018 season. The press event was hosted Tony and Grammy Award winner Leslie Odom, Jr. of Broadway’s Hamilton and Katharine McPhee who made her Broadway debut on April 10, 2018 in the lead role in Waitress. It was broadcast live on CBS This Morning and live streamed in its entirety at 8:30am at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.

Two-time Academy Award and Tony Award winner Denzel Washington with Tony Award winner Cicely Tyson. Photography by Lisa Pacino.

Two-time Academy Award and Tony Award winner Denzel Washington is among the 2018 nominees for his performance in Eugene O’Neill’s The Iceman Cometh revival; directed by two-time Tony Award winner George C. Wolfe.

Among women nominated: Renée Fleming, La Chanze, Ariana DeBose, Jessie Mueller, Condola Rashād, Glenda Jackson, and Laurie Metcalf. Musical Revivals nominated: Carousel, My Fair Lady, Once on this Island, and The Band’s Visit.

Also in attendance this morning: David Henry Hwang, Chairman of the American Theatre Wing; Heather Hitchens, President & CEO of the American Theatre Wing; Thomas Schumacher, Chairman of The Broadway League; Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League.

UPDATE: The 72nd Annual Tony Award Nominee Press Meet was held in New York on May 2, 2018. This week please look out for our complete photo-article with Renée Fleming, Denzel Washington, La Chanze, Ariana DeBose, Condola Rashād, Glenda Jackson, Jessie Mueller, Tina Fey, Lindsay Mendez, Norbert Leo Butz, Tony Shalhoub, Joshua Henry, Nathan Lane, Laurie Metcalf, Bartlett Sher, Joe Mantello, George C. Wolfe, John Leguizamo, and numerous more. We are excited to share our photos with you!

The 72nd Annual Tony Awards will return to Radio City Music Hall, New York, Sunday June 10, 2018 on CBS-TV.

Chita Rivera and Andrew Lloyd Webber will each take home a 2018 special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theater, receiving their trophies at the awards ceremony on June 10th.

The lifetime achievement honors are one category of a handful of special Tony Awards that are doled out as part of the theater industry’s biggest night. Along with the list of competitive awards that make up the night’s main event, Tony Honors are handed out to industry figures who are not eligible in any of the competition categories, and another special award is given for outstanding commitment to humanitarian or charitable causes.
Nick Scandalios, the executive vice president of the Nederlander Organization, will receive the Isabelle Stevenson Award at this year’s Tony Awards ceremony, 2018.
Special Tony Awards: Bruce Springsteen &  John Leguizamo   
Regional Theatre Tony Award: La MaMa E.T.C.- New York City 
Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre: Sara Krulwich, Bessie Nelson & Ernest Winzer Cleaners

  Here’s the complete list of the 2017-2018 Season Tony Award Nominees. Congratulations and Bravo to All.


 The Antoinette Perry Award for Excellence in Broadway Theatre, more commonly known as Tony Award, recognizes the excellence in live Broadway theatre. The awards are presented by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League at an annual ceremony in New York City. The awards are given for Broadway productions and performances, and an award is given for regional theatre. Several discretionary non-competitive awards are also given, including a Special Tony Award, the Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award. The awards are named after Antoinette “Tony” Perry, co-founder of the American Theatre Wing. The rules for the Tony Awards are set forth in the official document “Rules and Regulations of The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards”, which applies for that season only. The Tony Awards are considered the highest U.S. theatre honor, the New York theatre industry’s equivalent to the Academy Awards (Oscars) for motion pictures, the Grammy Awards for music, and the Emmy Awards for television. It also forms the fourth spoke in the EGOT, that is someone who has won all four awards. The Tony Awards are also considered the equivalent of the Laurence Olivier Award in the United Kingdom and the Molière Award of France.

Lisa Pacino and Under The Duvet Productions are based in New York. Photography services are available worldwide. If you wish to book photography services, receive information, and/or license images for commercial and/or promotional use please E-mail: UnderTheDuvetProductions@gmail.com

Please visit our On-Line Magazine with over 500 articles:



%d bloggers like this: